Keeping a clean work desk

August 28, 2008 at 5:14 pm (clutter, desk, finance, freedom, Life, Organizing, Uncategorized, work) (, , , , , )

I work in a heavy paper environment and my department is in charge of keeping all the paper in order.  I have constant paperwork coming into my in-box, paperwork requested to deliver to others and invoices, packing slips, mail and on and on.  I manage to keep everything organized and this helps tremendously with time management and effectiveness at work.

A key factor in keeping a clean desk is NOT multi-tasking.  For day to day tasks that are redundant I try my best to concentrate on only one task at a time.  I set a up a time-frame for each task and finish what I have started.  Once I have completed one task I move on to the next and mentally set up another time frame. 

At the end of every month I go through my desk and purge all of the items that are outdated or not needed.  I am in charge of purchasing and I get a ton of catalogs from various places.  I found that Staples and OfficeMax are my two favorite places to order so I usually go through a new catalog, see if their price on something I buy frequently is good, if not toss it!   Holding on to phone books and catalogs take up much needed space on my desk and add to clutter.

The one thing I must be both sad and happy about is the lack of drawers at my desk.  Sad because I have a few things on the top of my desk that I would rather hide.  Happy because drawers can get stuffed with less than desirable stuff-clutter!

How do you keep your workspace organized?  I love the pull out keyboard tray and my in-box!!!

1 Comment

  1. ballueder said,

    Hello,

    It seems not overly common these days to have too much paper floating about. However, you are right, do not clutter your desk.
    The best ever book I read was by David Allen on “Getting things done”.

    http://ballueder.wordpress.com/category/cb-consulting/time-management/

    Enjoy and leave a comment to let me know what you think.

    Regards
    Volker

Leave a Reply

