Un-cluttering your photos

May 13, 2008 at 11:51 pm (clutter, digital camera, Life, Organizing, photo, pictures) (, , , , , , , )

I am a huge photo person.  My fist born child, who is now 13, was photographed constantly and I have volumes of pictures.  Finding a place for all of these photos can be a very daunting task.  Luckily there are many ways to organize the mounds of photos that accumulate over time. 

A huge factor in my life for cutting back on photo clutter is my shiny new digital camera.  This was by far the best present I could have received.  The great thing about a digital camera is that you no longer have to develop ALL the photos on your roll of film.  However, clutter can build up on your camera.  To avoid camera clutter: delete photos that are not good pictures.  Yes you can use Photoshop to edit your photos but ask yourself whether or not you will have time to edit them.  If you do not have the time to edit then delete the photo and try again.  That is the beauty of the digital camera! 

Photo boxes are another method I have used to contain all of my photos that have already been processed.  I first go through the photo envelope and THROW OUT all of the bad photos.  I do not throw out the envelope the photos are in, but label the outside top of the envelope by event.  I then put the envelopes in chronological order in each box and label the outside of the box with a date range.  This allows me to easily find a photo when I need to.  I can glance at a photo box sorted by date, open it and find my photos arranged by event.  This has worked out quite well for me. 

Double prints are yet another form of photo clutter that can take up space.   I find that double prints are great for creating a photo collage that you can give away as a gift to someone.  You can pick up a nice frame with multiple windows at Wal-Mart for less than $10.00.  Just cut up your extra photos, arrange them and wrap!  An instant gift and a great way to declutter those extra photos that deserve to be viewed.

There are many, many other ways to utilize photos: scrapbook, the tried and true photo albums, kid projects and many more!   I found that www.michaels.com has several great ideas for using up photos.  Just click project ideas on the drop box at the top of the page and type in “photo”.  I am thinking of trying out the photo cubes!

Leave a Reply

